1. Home
  2. Engelsk Vg1ChevronRight
  3. UK & IrelandChevronRight
  4. Literature, Culture and SocietyChevronRight
  5. A.Bradley: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the PieChevronRight


A.Bradley: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie is Alan Bradley’s first mystery novel and the first title in his new series, The Buckshaw Chronicles.

Profile of girl in the sunset

The novel is set in England in the summer of 1950. So far, the summer hasn’t offered anything out of the ordinary for eleven-year-old Flavia de Luce, who is the heroine of this story. But then a series of mysterious events gets her attention: a dead bird is found on the doormat, a rare Black Penny stamp bizarrely pinned to its beak. Soon she is to find a stranger lying in the cucumber patch and watches him as he takes his dying breath. Murder has come to Buckshaw, Flavia's home. However, she is not afraid, “I wish I could say I was afraid, but I wasn’t. Quite the contrary. This was by far the most interesting thing that had ever happened to me in my entire life.” At that moment, Flavia commits herself to solving the crime. The following film trailer promotes the Norwegian edition of the novel. Watch the trailer and discuss how suspense is created in this very brief clip.

Afterwards you can read the excerpt below. It is from chapter 23 of the novel and picks up the story where the film trailer ends: the encounter between Flavia and Frank Pemberton, the murderer.

Learning content

Literature, Culture and Society

What is core content and additional content?



Oppgaver og aktiviteter